Vinegar – the Natural Ant Repellent!

I was working in the garden the other day, pulling weeds and grass runners that have sprung up after these lovely Spring rains and warm East Texas days.

As I pulled one particularly pesky runner, I noticed it intersected with a large pile of dirt at the corner of the garden. When it finally dislodged,Ā a billion ants angrily swarmed all over the sides of the garden.

IMG_2719

Tiny little demons

The pile was getting quite large and close to my cucumbers, so I knew it needed to be taken care of ASAP. I’m loathe to use commercial bug and ant killers that close to my food. I used ant granules last time, but the thought of the chemicals seeping into the soil right next to my potatoes gave me the squirmies.

I had recently read about using vinegar as an ant repellent, rather than straight out killing them. It’s a bit more humane, and definitely more natural. I decided to give it a go and see how it worked.

IMG_2715

All I used was a plain bottle of distilled white vinegar. I poured a generous amount right into the middle of the ant bed, and some on the walls of the garden to discourage future settlers.

IMG_2722

I went out the next day, and the ant pile had moved on! I love this natural way of removing pests from the garden. The only thing you have to watch out for is to make sure you don’t get vinegar on your precious plants, because it will definitely kill them. But if you’re careful, I recommend it!

-TBE

 

Leave a Reply

